The Get Fit Challenge

***************************

The Get Fit Challenge: (As announced in Issue 4 of CLR Inspire, http://www.aweber.com/1QZeg)

j0430800a

There’s strength in numbers so if you’re looking to take your fitness up a notch why not join me in the Get Fit Challenge? We’re not the sort to wait for the New Year to make changes, and we are action oriented, right? The challenge takes off on October 1st and it involves taking up a form of exercise, setting weekly goals with it, and keeping these up till December 31st this year. Email me your fitness goals and challenges and I’ll set up an online group where we can encourage one another. Are you in? Email me now, before life gets in the way! 

 

 

**Please consult your medical care practitioner before embarking on new exercise programs or routines.

******************************

Well people, the Get Fit Challenge has begun! In order to lead by example, let me share with you my fitness goals for this week, 4th – 10th October 2009! They involve exercise and healthy eating, and are:

(1) To walk briskly for at least 30 minutes every day, Monday to Friday.

(2) To get my 5 fruits and veg every day of the week. I just lur-r-r-r-ve fruit ‘n veg!

(I’m already doing fine with these two.)

(3) To do 30 minutes of an aerobic exercise, besides walking, on Mon, Wed and Fri. And of course do the warming up and cooling down!

(4) To reduce my food portion size by half, for every meal I eat this week.

(5) Not to eat any sweets or chocolates, and only have 4 biscuits in any one day! Grrr!

 

Phew! Now that I’ve announced this to the world I have really committed myself! I spoke with a coach a while ago and she asked how far I was committed, on a scale of 0-10, to these goals.

(0 = Not committed. Won’t do it! 10 = Totally committed. Done deal!)

For the exercise goals I quipped, “100%, all for it!” For the food goals, I moaned, groaned and proffered a 50%!  “Good!” said Coach, “We can get moving with a 50% commitment. Now, what can we do to raise the commitment higher?” That was a no-brainer for me. Just thinking of how I’d look in a few months if I didn’t do something about it, was motivating enough! Not to  mention the fact that I was now feeling out of synch – cool and slick on the inside but elephantine on the outside!  So Coach got me to commit to my commitment, rather than my desired destination. Because I can do something about my commitment, right now. It’s within reach. But my goal is still afar off, presently outside my immediate sphere of influence. It’s comforting to know that there is some impact you can begin to make immediately!

A light bulb came on, and has stayed on ever since! I am now focusing on keeping up my commitment, one day at a time. And it’s working. I am now 100% committed to the food goals as well as the exercise ones. With 100% commitment I can just get up and go, no matter the weather. And my body just “gets with the programme.” It’s quite wet outside today but I’ll be doing my aerobics inside. And the school run will give me 30 minutes of brisk walking. Oh yes, we’re a Fit for Life family! We walk everywhere that’s within walking distance.

I hope this inspires you to set some fitness goals and work them this week. I’ll be back next week to tell you how it went. And hopefully some of you will get brave enough to share your goals and experiences too! Till then, stay focused on your commitment. It’s easier than looking to your desired destination.   Ciao!

One Response to The Get Fit Challenge

  1. […] my goals here:  https://zestwithoma.wordpress.com/2009/10/05/the-get-fit-challenge/ […]

Leave a Reply

